Monday, April 8, 2013

Book Tour: An Affair to Dismember by Elise Sax Interview & Giveaway

Genre: Comedic romantic mystery
Publisher: Ballantine (Random House)
ISBN: 978-0345532220
Number of pages: 320
Word Count: About 80,000

Amazon     BN    Wal-Mart    BooksAMillion

Book Description:
Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?

Praise for An Affair to Dismember
“Elise Sax’s new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start! . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain.”—RT Book Reviews

“Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie.”—Booklist

“Elise Sax will win your heart.”—New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis

“In the tradition of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax’s new novel is a funny, sexy ride.”—Valerie Frankel, author of Four of a Kind

“What a fun book! It will leave readers begging for more.”—Kim Gruenenfelder, author of There’s Cake in My Future


Chapter 1
When you first start out, you’re going to ask people what they’re looking for. This is a big mistake. Huge. They want the impossible. Every woman wants a Cary Grant with a thick wallet who doesn’t mind if she’s a few pounds overweight. Every man wants a floozy he can take home to Mom. See? Asking their opinions only leads to headaches you could die from. Take it from me, I’ve been doing this a lot of years. Nobody knows what they want. You have to size a person up and tell them what they want. It might take convincing, but you’ll widen their horizons, and they’ll thank you for it. Eventually. Remember, love can come from anywhere, usually where you least expect it. Tell them not to be afraid, even if it hits them on the head and hurts a lot at first. With enough time, any schlimazel can turn into a Cary Grant or a presentable floozy.
Lesson 22, Matchmaking Advice from Your Grandma Zelda

The morning I found out about Randy Terns’ murder, I was happily oblivious. I was too busy to care, trying to make heads or tails of my grandma’s matchmaking business. Nobody actually mentioned the word “murder” that morning. I sort of stumbled onto the idea later on.

That Thursday I sat in my grandma’s makeshift office in the attic of her sprawling Victorian house, buried under mounds of yellowed index cards and black-and-white Polaroid pictures. It was all part of Zelda’s Match­making Services, a business I now co-owned at my grandma’s insistence as her only living relative and what she called “a natural matchmaker if ever I saw one.”

“Gladie Burger,” she had told me over the phone three months before, urging me to move in with her, “you come from a long line of Burger women. Burger women are matchmaker women.”

I was a Burger woman, but I had strong doubts about the matchmaker part. Besides, I couldn’t decipher the business. It was stuck in the dark ages with no computer, let alone Internet connection. Grandma fluctuated between staging workshops, running group meetings, hosting walk-­ins, and just knowing when someone needed to be fixed up. “It’s an intuitive thing,” she explained.

I pushed aside a stack of cards, stirring up a black cloud of dust. I had been a matchmaker in training for three months, and I was no closer to matching any couples. To be truthful, I hadn’t even tried. I wiped my dusty hands on my sweatpants and stared at the giant mound on her desk. “Grandma, I’m not a matchmaker,” I said to her stapler. “I’ve never even had a successful relationship. I wouldn’t know one if I saw one.”

I had a sudden desire for fudge. I gave my stomach a squish and tugged at my elastic waistband. My grandmother was a notorious junk food addict, and I had slipped into her bad habits since I moved in with her. Hard to believe I was the same person who not even four months ago was a cashier in a trendy health food store in Los Angeles, the second-­to-­last job I had had in a more than ten-­year string of jobs—­which was probably why Grandma had twisted my arm to move to Cannes, California.

I decided against fudge and picked up an index card. It read: George Jackson, thirty-­five years old. Next to the note, in Grandma’s handwriting, was scribbled Not a day less than forty-­three; breath like someone died in his mouth. Halitosis George was looking for a stewardess, someone who looked like Jackie Kennedy and had a fondness for Studebakers. Whoa, Grandma kept some pretty old records. I needed to throw out 95 percent of the cards, but I didn’t know which 5 percent to keep.

Putting down the card, I stared out the window, my favorite activity these days. What had I gotten myself into? I had no skills as a matchmaker. I was more of a temp agency kind of gal. Something where I wasn’t in charge of other people’s lives. My three-­week stint as a wine cork inspector was more my speed.

A man and his German shepherd ran down the street. I checked my watch: 12:10 p.m. Right on time. I could always count on the habits of the neighbors. There was a regular stream of devoted dog walkers, joggers, and cyclists that passed the house on a daily basis. Not much changed here. The small mountain town was low on surprises. I tried to convince myself that was a good thing. Stability was good. Commitment was good.

With sudden resolve, I took George Jackson’s card and threw it in the wastebasket. “Bye, George. I hope you found love and an Altoid.”

I tried another card. Sarah Johns. Nineteen years old. She had gotten first prize at the county fair for her blueberry pie, and she was looking for an honest man who didn’t drink too much. My grandma had seen something more in her. Poor thing. Art school better than man, she had written in the margins.

I tossed the card, letting it float onto George. Matchmaking was no easy task. It wasn’t all speed dating and online chat rooms. Lives were on the line. One false move and futures could be ruined.


1.     Where did you get the idea for the novel?

I worked from home, and my office faces the street. I often found myself staring out the window and was fascinated by the house across the street. It grew from there.

2.     Your title. Who came up with it? Did you ever change your title?

The title was all mine. It was never changed. I titled the second book Citizen Pain, but my publisher changed it to Matchpoint. I titled the third book The Wizard of Saws, and my publisher changed that to Match and Release.

3.     Which came first, the title or the novel? 

The title and story idea were born together. When I opened Microsoft Word and started typing, it was always called An Affair to Dismember.

4.     Since becoming a writer, what’s the most exciting thing to ever happen to you?

Getting the call from my editor. It was the moment of validation as a writer that I wanted. The rest is gravy.

5.     What book are you currently reading or what was the last book you read?

I finally read Eat, Pray, Love. But I would rather say I was reading something else.

6.     What was your first book that you ever wrote (very first one you wrote, not published)?
It’s called Bounty, and it’s a funny romantic adventure about a journalist (sound familiar?) who gets abducted by a mercenary, and the mercenary is HOT. I hope to see that on shelves, too. It’s a lot of fun.

7.     What is your writing process?
I write in bursts from my desk or my bed. I write better at night, but as the single mother of two boys, I don’t have the luxury of sleeping in in the morning. So…

8.     Who are your favorite authors of all time?
John Steinbeck, Jane Smiley, John Irving, E Annie Proulx, and the list goes on.

9.     At a book signing, do you just sign your name or do you write a note? How do you come up with stuff to say? 
I usually write a note after I get a chance to speak to the reader. And I always love to speak to readers.

10.  What is something people would be surprised to know about you?
I’m ambidextrous. I love anchovies straight out of the jar. I can watch any garbage on TV and be happy doing it (except for reality shows).

11.  How do you react to a bad review?
I find Hershey bars help.
12.  How did you celebrate the sale of your first book?
I ran to my mother’s house, jumped up and down and screamed. Then, I went out and bought a Keurig coffee maker and kitchen cabinets. (I’m a wild child.)

About the Author:
Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris, France. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before trying her hand at writing fiction. She lives in Southern California with her two sons. An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker mystery series, is her first novel.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Link eхchange is nothing else except it іs simρly ρlасing the
    othеr persоn's weblog link on your page at proper place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

    Here is my web site: Daniel Chavez Moran

  2. "I worked from home, and my office faces the street. I often found myself staring out the window and was fascinated by the house across the street. It grew from there."

    LOVE it! I hate admitting this but since I was a kid I've always had this overimaginative thing with strangers passing by in the store or any car that drives down my cul-de-sac. lol

  3. Why do you need to concentrate our resources
    on to maximize our success, what I want. You should know how to
    start seeing results. A technique known as attraction student loan,
    he brands himself in the industry. Include the six week planning period in the PR arena over the last few years, the Mets planned a close-the-gates forever send-off for the ballpark.
    Social media Student Loan is often negative and controversial.

    Feel free to visit my webpage :: The Student Loan People